The Fellowship Project Grants were established in 2016 to support individual artists from all disciplines who have received the maximum allowed number of the NAC fellowships (two and more) and meet all Fellowship Program eligibility requirements.

Reno artist Joseph DeLappe received a NAC Fellowship Project grant in fiscal 2016. His project was to create “Drone Strike(s)” a large-scale installation intended to map, via sculptural and electronic components, the history of ongoing US drone strikes in Pakistan. The work features over 400 3d printer paper drones mounted on stands – one each representing every documented drone strike in Pakistan. Arranged to create a map of drone strikes – each drone is individually lit by an addressable LED light which will go off in a timed staccato pattern reflecting a chronology of drone strikes. His installation was part of a group exhibition, Tilting the Basin: Contemporary Art of Nevada, March 17 – May 14, 2017, at the Nevada Museum of Art in Reno.

Stephan Caplan received a NAC Fellowship Project grant in fiscal 2017. His project was to create a series of video six performances of American music for oboe. All are available free on YouTube.
According to Caplan, “These six video performances introduce the wide emotional range of recent American music for the oboe. They are also my personal attempt to express these emotions through greater physical freedom. All music making is a balance of discipline and freedom.

Summer Suite by David Ward-Steinman

The four movements of Summer Suite are at turns lyrical, jazzy, angry, and finally, contemplative.

Two Trifles and a Wedding Present by Philip Orem

Orem’s work features jaunty rhythms and Sondheim-like phrases, interspersed with humor.

Quintet for Oboe and Strings by Daron Hagen

The first movement of Hagen’s Quintet confronts death (do you hear the Dies Irae theme?), the second is a loving tribute to the mystery of birth, and the last is a lively celebration, with catchy rhythms and a wink to Prokofiev.

Shoreline for oboe, viola and harp by Cynthia Wong

Cynthia Wong’s mesmerizing sounds with viola and harp tell the story of Musiline, half-human and half-mermaid, dreaming of a love never realized.

Aria Hebraique by Leon Stein

Aria Hebraique recalls the deep interior world of a Kol Nidrei chant.

Koke No Niwa for English horn, harp and percussion by Alan Hovhaness

“A garden of sounds and silences,” this video features photos of the moss gardens of Kyoto which inspired the music.